## Subsection 4.—Developments in the Welfare Field

As a result of experiences in the pre-war depression period, wartime planning for increased social security, and the immediate need to help provide assistance in rehabilitating war veterans and war workers in civilian employment, there has been a notable increase in services provided in the social welfare and labour fields. As the amount of service provided has increased, Provincial Government agencies have been re-grouped with the result that health, social welfare and labour problems are now more widely recognized as of departmental importance.

Since the beginning of the War, four provinces have created new departments in the welfare field and three others have reconstituted departments so as to establish a separate welfare department. The newly created departments are: Nova Scotia's Department of Public Welfare; Quebec's Department of Social Welfare and Youth; Alberta's Department of Public Welfare; and British Columbia's Department of Health and Welfare (and a Public Health Insurance Commission). The changes in the other three provinces include: the replacing of the Department of Education and Public Health of the Province of Prince Edward Island by the Departments of Health and Welfare and of Education; the replacing of the Department of Health and Labour of New Brunswick by the Department of Health and Social Services, and the Department of Labour; and the reconstituting in Saskatchewan of the Bureau of Labour and Public Welfare of the Department of Municipal Affairs, to establish the Department of Social Welfare and the Department of Labour.

In addition to the departmental changes in New Brunswick and Saskatchewan which give greater departmental recognition to labour problems, Manitoba also replaced its Department of Public Works and Labour by the Department of Public Works and the Department of Labour, while Alberta re-named its Department of Trade and Industry in 1948 as the Department of Industries and Labour.

An important secondary development in the social welfare field during and since the end of the War has been increased provision for community planning. All provinces, except Quebec, now have legislation covering this field. Powers under the legislation are vested in Municipal Affairs Departments in Nova Scotia, Saskatchewan and British Columbia, in the Department of Planning and Development in Ontario, the Municipal Commissioner in Manitoba, the Department of Public Works in Alberta, and Provincial Planning Boards in Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick. Alberta also has a Provincial Planning Board. All provinces, except Nova Scotia, have a governmental agency to provide assistance to municipalities in handling their community planning problems, and Nova Scotia discharges this function through its Planning Board. Prince Edward Island and Manitoba make grants to municipalities to assist them with their planning. Nearly all cities of over 30,000 population and about one-half of the cities of 5,000 to 30,000 population now have planning commissions.

## Subsection 5.—Assistance to Primary Industries

The emergence of Provincial Government departments concerned primarily with assisting secondary industry is being paralleled by a more functional organization of departments concerned with the primary industries. This type of organi-